Beer is good for you! New study finds beer prevents Osteoporosis

9 Feb

Great news! Next time your mother/father/significant other/ roommate/doctor try to diss your beer drinking, you can just tell them to back off and “I am fighting off Osteoporosis.” Yes, another excuse to drink delicious beers…like we even needed one.

But this is real. A study done at the University of California, Davis has revealed that dietary silicon, found in beer, is beneficial to bone health. Different beers have different levels of silicon and researchers did a chemical analysis on 100 different varieties of beer to see which ones contained the most.

The study says that light-color ales contain more dietary silicon than darker beers. Some good beers for this may be: Dale’s Pale Ale (reviewed last week), Bell’s Two-Hearted IPA (soon to be reviewed), Sierra Nevada Pale Ale or, for a really light-tasting pale ale, Bass.

The study also specifies there was not much silicon found in non-alcoholic beer, so don’t try and cop out with an O’ Douls.

Since women are more prone to Osteoporosis than men, I think it’s pretty important we keep drinking really good beers.

Somebody please send Sally Fields a 12-pack – I am getting tired of these Osteoporosis commercials.

To ready more about the study, CLICK HERE.

And Beer Helps Prevent Bone Loss - tell that to Mrs. Doubtfire!

5 Responses to “Beer is good for you! New study finds beer prevents Osteoporosis”

  1. healthyandlazy February 10, 2011 at 1:35 am #

    So, let me get this straight. Beer is good for your bones and dark chocolate is good for your heart?

    This is getting better and better!

    • Afrobutterfly February 10, 2011 at 9:13 pm #

      I always thought I was drinking away my future, but turns out I was drinking FOR my future! Great news. Tonight I raise a toast to Sally Fields, who can now fulfill her true destiny as the spokesperson for a popular cookie brand.

    • JR February 14, 2011 at 8:12 pm #

      And… since you need more attention to these areas as you get older, would this mean you need to consume more as you age? Or are we talking just a steady diet?

  2. Rachel February 11, 2011 at 2:20 pm #

    Awesome research! I am so excited to see justification for a little beer drinking.

    • beerforgirls February 11, 2011 at 4:23 pm #

      I know! My bones are feeling a little weak this morning… I think I will have to do something about that during happy hour later.

Leave a Reply

