Well’s Banana Bread Beer

13 Feb

If you are like me and think banana bread is one of the best inventions, obviously second to the Internet, beer and TV series Lost, then you would probably be drawn to try Well’s Banana Bread Beer also. Save your calories consumption for actual banana bread because this beer is not that great.

I picked this up while perusing the beer isle for my next delicious endeavor. I let it cool in the fridge, sat down and was super excited to try it. After the first couple sips I was disappointed and then perplexed thinking, “Oh crap, I’m going to have to give a bad beer review. This is not very good.” So here goes my first negative beer review on Beer For Girls.

Appearance

Upon first impression, this beer is quality. It is a nice dark amber red color and smells kind of like what you would expect banana bread to smell like – yum. There was good carbonation but little to no foam. So far, so good…

Taste

Maybe I had too high expectations for this beer because I do really like banana bread, but I really did not enjoy it. This beer is definitely not hoppy, rich or flavorful. There is a really strong banana taste, but not in a good way. Although Wells and Young’s Brewing Company claim they brew with “fairtrade bananas”, it has a very artificial banana taste, like banana flavored taffy or the banana runt candies.

There is also a slight spice to this beer, which I found odd. I have had pumpkin beers which have a spice and it totally works, but with banana bread, not so much. It would be like adding cayenne pepper to your banana bread loaf – stupid.

This beer is made with malted barley and claims to be an ale, although it’s lack of flavor and body do not point in that direction.

It’s not like your beer for girl author to not want to finish her beer, but I was sick of drinking this toward the end.

To double-check myself, I had 3 other girls taste this beer, all with varying beer aficionada status. After a few sips, their facial expression looked like I just asked them to recite the alphabet backward and the responses were similar to mine.

The aftertaste was not pleasant. Sometimes with beers, such as IPA’s, you have a sweet lingering taste, but this was not the case with banana bread beer. It was slightly tart and lingered too long. I had to urge to brush my teeth shortly after.

Logistics

Well’s Banana Bread Beer is 5.2 percent alcohol, slightly higher than your average brew.

It is brewed out of the UK. Since food in the UK is questionable, it doesn’t really surprise me that a food-based beer is too.

The label really talks this beer up saying things like, “silky richness of a masterful malt” and “tempting banofee flavors” but don’t listen. And I had no idea what “banofee” was until I looked it up – apparently it is some English pastry dessert combining bananas and toffee.

It is available on draft sparingly and also comes in a European pint bottle (20 fl. ounces). An American pint is 16 fl. ounces FYI.

 

This beer is bananas. B-a-n-a-n-a-s

Consensus

Not horrible beer, but not great.

Does not taste like banana bread.

Could be better.

Pretty color and nice smell.

Instead Try…

Lazy Magnolia Southern Pecan

Shipyard Pumpkinhead Ale (seasonal)

Dogfish Head Raison D ‘Etre

These are all good beers!

7 Responses to “Well’s Banana Bread Beer”

  1. JR February 14, 2011 at 8:09 pm #

    Sorry beer-for-girl author that you had to give a bad review, but thank-you for your honesty. I will avoid thinking I’d like it because I really do like banana bread. Just wondering but would bananas taste or be different across the pond? Was the price comparable to others on the shelf or was it considerably more ?

  2. hope February 15, 2011 at 6:33 pm #

    I like how you called it stupid and insulted british food!!

    • beerforgirls February 16, 2011 at 2:59 pm #

      Besides the fish and chips, food in the UK is a bit questionable

  3. Rachel February 15, 2011 at 9:11 pm #

    I would definitely have been suckered into this one. Love banana bread. Thanks for saving me!

  4. April February 22, 2011 at 7:26 pm #

    Thanks for posting. I was going to try this one soon but I think you saved me some time. Love your blog though!

    • Mary April 2, 2011 at 8:07 pm #

      Are you kidding? This is a great beer. Love, Love it.

      • beerforgirls April 2, 2011 at 9:13 pm #

        Hmm, maybe I should give it another try.

Leave a Reply

