Southern Tier Creme Brulee Stout – Beer For Dessert

24 Feb

This beer is black, really rich and very alcoholic. I am debating on if I should nickname it Tracy Morgan or Diana Ross.

Southern Tier Crème Brulee Stout is not for the weak-hearted. It’s a strong beer, at 10 percent alcohol and pretty delicious.

I would categorize this as a dessert beer. It’s a one-and-done type of beer, being super strong and sweet, sip it slow, savor it and end it with one or you will be rolling your ankles in those Jimmy Choos and drunk dialing your ex before you know it.

Appearance

This beer was thick and black, almost syrupy. It’s so thick that it is not even somewhat opaque. It smells sweet, sugary and delicious, kind of like what I would imagine walking into Paula Deen’s kitchen would smell like. Upon pouring it into the glass, it has a thick layer of brown foam – rare. Most foam is white or gray. The carbonation is low, typical of stouts, great appearance and true to the stout look.

Taste

This beer is creamy, and had tastes of vanilla, coffee, caramel and chocolate. I guess I doubted that this beer could taste like crème brulee but it actually does – go Southern Tier. It is a little Kahlua like but I would not describe this beer as overpowering.

This is not a sunshine and summer time type of beer. It is certainly not light, crisp and refreshing. It took me a long time to drink this bad boy. I would think it would be most desirable in the winter, maybe sitting around a campfire, chilling and enjoying life. Strong beers tend to make me sleepy, so I probably would not want this if I were going out on the town for the night.

Sip it, enjoy it, and savor it. It’s a really good beer.

(This beer came highly recommended to me, by two different girls actually)

Logistics

Southern Tier Crème Brulee is an imperial milk stout. Imperial stouts are typically strong (over 8 percent), and have tastes of malts, roasted barley and possibly dark fruits. They sometimes can have a burnt or roasted nut taste. They are usually brown or black with low carbonation. As the story goes, imperial stouts, AKA Russian imperial stouts, were made in the 1800’s in Russian and are strong in alcohol so the beer would not freeze in the frigid wasteland. This beer has lactose sugar added which makes it a milk imperial stout.

Final Thoughts

Delicious, sweet, rich and will blow your diet. Some bars will serve you a half-pint. Even if they don’t have it on the menu you can still ask. I would gladly serve a patron a half pint if asked, especially with a strong beer like this.

Strong craft beers like this are also typically expensive when you order them out.

At 10 percent alcohol, this is basically like drinking a pint of wine. A pint class is 16 ounces and a standard glass of wine is 5 ounces. So think of this as drinking a little less than three glasses of wine.

This beer is definitely worth a shot, but like I said it is not a light, easy-to-drink beer, so be ready for a heavy stout. Cheers.

4 Responses to “Southern Tier Creme Brulee Stout – Beer For Dessert”

  1. healthyandlazy February 24, 2011 at 10:14 pm #

    This sounds really good! Where can I buy this around Gainesville?

    • Beer4Girls February 25, 2011 at 2:31 pm #

      I found it at Gator Bev but it was a little pricey and only available in a big bottle. I’m going to check around downtown and see if anywhere has it on draft. Maybe that new place Paul’s Brewery?? I can only hope….

      • BrewGator March 3, 2011 at 6:26 pm #

        Most places downtown had it on draft when it first came out, toward the end of last year. I haven’t seen it on tap since then. It’s a seasonal release, so I doubt you’ll be able to find it again until next year.

  2. Rachel February 25, 2011 at 12:38 am #

    I second the above comment! This looks absolutely delicious. You bring the beer, I’ll bring the cupcakes.

Leave a Reply

