Gainesville Beer Festival

27 Mar

I have to say the 2011 Greater Gator Beer Festival was a success.

Beer festivals are like a blend of speed dating and the biggest power hour game imaginable…except 4 hours. Any ADD ridden/extremely impatient person can appreciate the ability to bounce around from one beer stand to the next at your leisure and the ‘anything goes’ atmosphere these things provide. Oh yeah, old drunk man, you just ran over my foot with your wheelchair , don’t worry about saying excuse me. And don’t worry big sweaty stranger who told me “I pregamed this thing with Jager”, lean on my shoulder even though you outweigh me by double.

All inclusive food and beer?  You had me at all-inclusive beer.

Beer festivals are lots of fun and gives people a chance to sample beers and find what they like without the commitment of buying the whole 6-pack. It’s also something different to do, usually in the sun. A little vitamin D is good for the soul.

I went with the roomates, one being a novice in beer drinking and we all had a great time. The attendants of the beer stations are usually knowledgeable and friendly.

There’s one downfall to this type of thing, as you may know from going to any outdoor concert or festival – port-o-pottys(gagged a little typing that). Can I please wait 20 minutes doing the “pee dance” to go into the worst smelling, Claustrophobia-inducting, germ-ridden box. I try to not drink any water before I go to these things…not the best advice for your health -Sue me.

So I decided to do an awards ceremony for the sake of this blog and here is what I came up with. Here’s some good beers to try:

1st Place

Southern Tier Choklat Stout – Sooo good. This chocolaty bitter beer is black with dark brown foam. It’s very strong, full-bodied and delicious. Obviously, this is a dessert beer. I could not drink more than one of these. It’s definitely worth a try if you ever come across this beer. It would probably be great paired with something else chocolaty.  Also check out the Crème Brulee Stout I have reviewed earlier, this company knows how to make good dessert beers. Like many dessert beers, this beer is very strong – 11 percent to be exact. Being almost as much alcohol as class of wine, you should only drink one of these bad boys.

2nd Place

Oskar Blues Old Chub – delicious. This Scotch Ale rings in at 8 percent alcohol and is smooth and worth a try. Only available in a can, like all Oskar Blues beers, Old Chub is reddish brown and color with hints of caramel and malt. It is a bit smoky tasting with hints of roasted nuts or fruit. Overall, this beer is strong, and surprisingly enjoyable.

3rd Place

Sweetwater 420 Extra Pale Ale is a long time favorite of mine. Although I am partial to Sweetwater beers because I have been to the brewery and have seen this brand grow from just a wee little baby to a well-received craft beer company, I still think it is worth a mention. 420 is just an all around good extra pale ale. It is smooth, bitter and hoppy, but not overwhelming. It’s a sharp tasting amber color ale and contain 5.2 percent alcohol.

Au revoir friends. After all this beer and typing, I need a nap.

3 Responses to “Gainesville Beer Festival”

  1. Rachel April 2, 2011 at 3:06 am #

    after reading this, i bought old chub. really enjoyed it! and it didn’t hurt that everyone at the party (including the guy at the check out counter when i bought the beer) thought i had great taste in beer.

  2. beerforgirls April 2, 2011 at 6:13 pm #

    Glad you liked it – its a good beer.

  3. Geoffrey Foster April 12, 2011 at 12:32 am #

    Strong Waters is an outstandingly broad scoped guide for making many types of spirited beverages, by far the best book on the subject I have seen to date.

Leave a Reply

