Employee meeting – Oh wait, just kidding, awesome beer tasting.

29 Mar

If you have ever worked at a restaurant or bar, you know to brace yourself when your hear “employee meeting”. It will most likely be an hour rant about high costs, over pouring, too much socializing, blah, blah blah. I get it your angry and we are all on the verge to being fired. Basically, ending with a few empty threats and making you hate your boss even more than yesterday.

So when the bar I work at called a meeting last Sunday afternoon, I reluctantly strolled in hungover a little tired, and prepared to block out what I would hear, and tried to figure out how to sleep with my eyes open.

Not the case. This meeting turned into a 4-hour beer/wine tasting, FIFA tournament, pizza party, funny-You Tube-clip-watching,  Sunday Funday that surpassed the Greater Gator Beer Festival I went to Saturday in terms of trying new beers. We got to try around 50 beers, some from far away lands, some from close by, and I came across some delicious beers and some great blog material.

The boss men claimed they wanted their employees to know what they were recommending to people. Quite the genius plan if I do say so myself.

I have many beers on the docket for review but here are a couple that were too good not mention. Try them if you ever get the chance, you’ll thank me later.

Red Brick 16 Ale (Pricey $$) (Strong :-0)

This is a bourbon-style brown ale. Super good, very very strong (11 percent). Has taste of caramel apples and whisky. This beer is sweet, smooth, bold with a smokey lingering taste.

Coronados Mermaid Red

Not going to lie, this song was playing in my head when I was trying this. Had I not been the only girl in the room, I would have been singing it out loud.

This Amber Ale pours rub red and has taste of carmel and pine. It’s not very bold, but is a light overall tasty beer.

Harviestoun Bitter and Twisted English India Pale Ale (Pricey $$)

This beer is $12 a bottle, maybe not worth it, but really good nonetheless. It’s light, grassy, slightly hoppy with hints of grapefruit flavors. Overall, really liked this beer.

 

Highland Oatmeal Porter

This is one of the only beers we don’t rotate because it’s really good and its not a an overwhelmingly strong beer. You can certainly taste the roased malts and there are hints of coffee and chocolate. I really like this beer.

Cigar City Jai Alai IPA

Like me, this beer was made in Tampa.

It possesses all qualities good in an IPA, hoppy, florally, has citrus and fruit flavors, and pours a beautiful copper orange color. This is something I recommend to people that come in. Great IPA.

Delerium Tremens (Strong :-0)

The beer with the pink elephant, you can’t miss it. Good, but not one of my favorites, personally, but I get so many complements on it I figured I should mention it.

Chrisp, spunky, Belgian style, maybe a slight peppery taste? If Belgians are your thing, you should probably try this. It will come in a fancy glass too.

Duvel

This Belgian Strong Pale Ale does a good job at keeping the classic Belgian beer taste while adding in hops, and slight fruit flavors (maybe pear?)

2 Responses to “Employee meeting – Oh wait, just kidding, awesome beer tasting.”

  1. Afrobutterfly March 30, 2011 at 4:47 am #

    Oh man, if only my personal closet beer tastings at IFAS were this much fun. Nah, I’m kidding (but seriously…)

    “Like me, this beer was made in Tampa”… Nice one.

    Also, ‘Little Mermaid’ was my favorite movie when I was four.

  2. beerforgirls March 30, 2011 at 1:33 pm #

    Loved little mermaid. I think maybe I was partial to the mermaid beer because it reminds me of it. On second thought it really wasn’t that good.

Leave a Reply

